History‎ > ‎2017‎ > ‎


Pre-Season Meeting

posted 22 Mar 2017, 13:52 by John Palmer   [ updated 22 Mar 2017, 14:13 by John Palmer ]

The pre-season meeting was held on Tuesday 21st March at Bridgnorth Bowling Club.
It was agreed that instead of a traditional League Presentation after the season had finished, a Finals Day would be organised where the two knockout cup finals would be played followed by a prize presentation.
Following the meeting, the draw for the knockout cups was made - handicaps and dates to be confirmed later in the season. Draw details:
Division 1
Round 1
MCC          v Wenlock
Horsehay A   v Highley A
Bridgnorth A v Stockton
Round 2
Islanders B  v Bridgnorth A or Stockton
Islanders A  v Broseley
Highley B    v Horsehay B

Division 2
Round 1
Bylet A      v Squirrel
Mortimer     v Albrighton
Round 2
Chelmarsh B  v Bridgnorth B
Chelmarsh A  v Bylet B
Horsehay C   v Worfield

New League President John Palmer was presented with his chain of office by league Vice President Frank Booth.

Pictured below are the League Officers:
Ron Adams (Vice President), Lesley Burnside (Secretary), John Palmer (President/Vice Chairman), Frank Booth (Vice President), Jeanette Bennett (Treasurer) and Mark Bennett (Chairman).

AGM Summary

posted 15 Feb 2017, 00:48 by John Palmer   [ updated 15 Feb 2017, 00:58 ]

The 2017 Annual General Meeting was held at Bridgnorth Bowling Club on Tuesday 14th February.

Two from Bridgnorth were discussed and accepted:
  1. Clubs not attending league management meetings will be fined £10. This is per club, not individual team.
  2. Two shot handicaps for home bowlers in league competitions will only apply in early rounds. They will not apply for semi-finals and finals.
League Structure
A letter of resignation from Cleobury A in Division 1 was accepted with regret. All other teams from last year are expected to continue. A request to join the league was received from Albrighton Bowling Club and this was accepted. They will play in Division 2. This means that as last year, there will be 11 teams in Division 1 and 10 in Division 2. As follows:
 Division 1  Division 2
 Islanders A      Bylet A 
 Highley A  Worfield 
 Horsehay A  Horsehay C 
 Madeley A  Chelmarsh A 
 Islanders B  Bridgnorth B 
 Broseley  Mortimer 
 Stockton  Squirrel 
 Horsehay B  Bylet B 
 Bridgnorth A Chelmarsh B 
 Highley B  Albrighton 
 Much Welock  

Election of Officers
 Chairman/Fixture Coordinator   Mark Bennett (Stockton)
 President/Vice Chairman      John Palmer (Bylet) 
 Secretary  Lesley Burnside (Mortimer)
 Treasurer  Jeanette Bennett (Stockon)
 SCGBA Representative      Tony Roche (Madeley)
 Vice Presidents      Ron Adams
 Mark Bennett
 Frank Booth
 Tony Roche
 Lol Russon
 Doug Westwood
 Cyril Bright
 Nigel Booth 

The Mike Beckett results system will be opened up for clubs to register/de-register players on 1st March.

Information for the AGM

posted 11 Feb 2017, 03:19 by John Palmer

The agenda for the AGM can be downloaded from here and the minutes of the 2016 AGM from here (both PDF format).

2017 AGM

posted 2 Jan 2017, 07:15 by John Palmer   [ updated 2 Jan 2017, 07:15 ]

Just to let you know, we have had to move the AGM from Monday 13th Feb 2017 to Tuesday 14th Feb.2017

Sorry for any inconvenience. All other details remain the same.

And on behalf of the committee we'd like to wish you all a Very Happy New Year.


Lesley Burnside


1-4 of 4