Archived League News 2010

Fifty Year Cup

Islanders A are the winners of the Fifty Year Cup. They defeated Abbey by 24 shots in the final at Highley.

In the Consolation Cup, Cleobury Mortimer A beat Highley by 24.

Full details here.


Dave and Marie Rhodes (White Horse) are the winners of this year's doubles competition held at Cleobury. In the final, they defeated Nigel Evans and John Roberts Snr (Madeley Cricket Club) 21-17. Full details here.

A links page has been created for reference to various bowls related web sites. Links to individual club's sites are included in the Club Contacts page.

Dave Rhodes of the White Horse won the League Singles Cup on his own green defeating team mate Phil Craggs 21-12. Both semi-finals were very close, Dave beat Tom McGill (Islanders B) 21-20 and Phil just got the better of Stuart Antcliff (White Horse) 21-19.

County Inter-League 2010

My thanks go to all the players who represented the league at the recent County inter-league competition.

This year it was held on various greens in Telford, our venue was Donnington Wood and we played in a qualifying group against Tanners Shrewsbury (last year's winners), Market Drayton Seniors and the Sunday Doubles leagues.

A very strong Tanners team won the group with us finishing in second place.

The competition was won overall by the Hawk Wem League who beat Tanners in the final.

Thanks go to Paul Yapp and Simon Oldcorn (Abbey), Chris Lodge, Les Mumford, Sue Mumford, John Roberts Snr, John Roberts Jnr and Ian Tipton (Madeley Cricket Club) and Rob Fuller (Islanders) for representing us on the day.

Mark Bennett

Chairman Highley Bowling League

Stockton's John Baines won the 'Jim Palmer' trophy for the second time in three years by narrowly defeating Reg Bennett of Madeley Cricket Club 21-20 at the Bylet.