League Competitions 2022

Confirmed Dates

Ladies Singles:  Sun 12th June at Cleobury, 1pm start.

Mark Bennett Memorial & Div2 Singles: Qualifying Tue 21st June, Finals Sun 24th July at Stockton.

Jim Palmer Memorial (over 60): Sun 3rd July at Chelmarsh, 1pm start.

Div1 & Div2 Doubles: Qualifying Tue 9th August, Finals Sun 11th September at Highley, 1.15pm scratch.

Div1 & Div2 League Knockouts

Preliminary Round: Tue 26th July
Round 2: Tue 23rd August
Semi-Finals: Tue 13th September

Finals Day & Presentation: Sun 25th September at Broseley.

Ladies Singles Sunday 12th June at Cleobury

Home bowler Lauren Burnside won the Ladies Singles with a 21-12 victory in the final over Jenny Goodall of Chelmarsh. In the semi-final, Lauren defeated her mother Lesley 21-15 while Jenny beat Mo Parton of Stockton 21-18.

League chairman John Palmer thanked Cleobury Bowling Club for their hospitality and the trophy was presented by League Treasurer Jeanette Bennett.

Match Scores

League Treasurer Jeanette Bennett presents the Ladies Trophy to Lauren.

Semi-finalists: Lauren Burnside & Jenny Goodall.

League Singles - Mark Bennett Memorial and Division 2 Trophies


Tuesday 21st June 6.45pm scratch: Mark Bennett Memorial at Bridgnorth & Worfield, Division 2 at both Bylet greens. Four to qualify from each venue. Finals at Stockton on Sunday 24th July, Division 2 start at 1pm, Mark Bennett Memorial start at 2pm.


Andy Garbett Horsehay

Pete Burd Horsehay

Olly Harris Horsehay

Dave Brown Horsehay

Tim Ealey Islanders

Pete Driver Islanders

Peter Hayne Islanders

John Palmer Islanders I/C

Ian Hopson Islanders

Bob Parry Highley

Lol Russon Highley

Luke Fearnall Stockton

Guy Lewis Stockton

Des Conneely Stockton

John Baines Stockton

Matthew Pritchard Broseley

Ian Hopson
Tim Ealey
John Baines
Dave Brown


John Clarke Horsehay

Steve Reeves Horsehay

Tony Roche Horsehay

Gaz Jones Horsehay

Cheryl Caswell Islanders

Tony Steadman Islanders

Brian Walters Islanders

Rob Renke Islanders  I/C

Albert Cornes Islanders

Brian Durnall Highley

Martin Beddow Highley

Darran Bailey Stockton

Mick Rhodes Stockton

Alan Ludlow-Rhodes Stockton

Rob Weir Stockton

Rob Burroughs Highley


Cheryl Caswell
Rob Burroughs
Tony Steadman
Gaz Jones

Bylet No.1

Alan Wain Bridgnorth

Brian Homer Bridgnorth

John Pritchard Stockton

Muriel Parton Stockton

Colin Pettit Stockton

Jeanette Bennett Stockton I/C

Tony Jones Worfield

Vera Hodgetts Much Wenlock

Mervyn Jarman Much Wenlock

Lauren Burnside Mortimer

Stuart Duncan Shifnal

Akeel Khan Shifnal

Tom Killen Shifnal

John Pritchard
Akeel Khan
Tom Killen
Tony Jones

Bylet No.2

Chris Massie Bridgnorth

Karl Law Bridgnorth

Martin Bennett Stockton

Joanne Fothergill Stockton

Steve Bishton Stockton

Debbie Jones Worfield

Nick Flatters Mortimer

Don Davies Much Wenlock

Lesley Burnside Mortimer  I/C

Joe Burnside Mortimer

Sharon Duncan Shifnal

Emma Duncan Shifnal

Joe Killen Shifnal

Joe Killen
Emma Duncan
Nick Flatters
Steve Bishton

Finals 24th July at Stockton

Mark Bennett Memorial Trophy

Islanders Cheryl Caswell shrugged off the trauma of leaving her purse on the roof of her car after purchasing fuel but happily getting it back from the police to just edge out Horsehay's Gareth Jones in a quality final 21-20.

In the semi-finals, Cheryl defeated her teammate Tim Ealey 21-14 while Gareth beat another Islander Ian Hopson 21-16.

League Treasurer Jeanette Bennett presents the Mark Bennett Memorial Trophy to Cheryl Caswell with Runner-up Gareth Jones.

Division 2 Singles

Stockton bowler John Pritchard won the Division 2 Singles Trophy beating Shifnal's Emma Duncan 21-10 in the final.

In the semi-finals, John just edged out teammate Steve Bishton 21-20 while Emma beat Worfield's Tony Jones 21-14.

Jeanette Bennett presents the Division 2 Singles Trophy to John Pitchard with Runner-up Emma Duncan.

Jim Palmer Memorial Trophy Sunday 3rd July at Chelmarsh

An excellent day's bowling saw 24 veteran bowlers compete for the Jim Palmer Trophy. The final was completed at 7.30pm with John Clarke (Horsehay) just edging out league vice-chairman Rob Renke (Islanders) 21-19. In the semi-finals, John beat Debbie Jones (Worfield) 21-17 and Rob beat previous winner Mo Parton (Stockton) by the same score. Full results are on the results service here.

League chairman John Palmer thanked Chelmarsh for their hospitality and all those who had measured and marked cards before presenting his father's memorial trophy to John Clarke.

League Chairman John Palmer presents the trophy to John Clarke.

Runner-up and league vice-chairman Rob Renke and winner John Clarke.

Team Knockouts

Division 1

Highley A and Madeley each had four winners in the final but the league champions edged the match by 8 shots.

The match card can be found here.

Highley A with the division 1 knockout cup. L to R: Andy James, Geoff Wylde (Captain), Frank Leek, Stuart Gittins, Dave Scriven, Danny Statham, Dave East & Jacob Ash.

Madeley Cricket Club, started well with three winners and a 17 shot lead after the first four but could only get one winner in the second four.
L to R: Ian Evans (Captain), John Roberts Jnr, Jim Lister, Rob Beddows, Graham Bleakley, Nigel Evans, Kev Lavelle & Les Mumford.

Division 2

Stockton A never looked back after having three winners in the first four against Much Wenlock and eventually had six winners and a winning margin of 40 shots. 

The match card is here.

Winners Stockton A. L to R: Rich Suggett, Steve Bishton, Rob Weir, John Pritchard, Jeanette Bennett (Captain), Martin Bennett, Mo Parton & John Baines.